Its so easy to confuse the time scarce junta on internet. Especially, when Yahoo has been closing so many services; Briefcase, Geo-cities, etc that it is almost incidental that Yahoo might be closing something else and hence this email.
I thought of letting know some of my friends via this post on this issue.
How to tackle this -
Just notice the email id from where the mail was sent.
The fake mail (above) was sent from "dikctk@accounts.net" email id!!! - while the genuine one - sample the Geocities closure email below - was sent from Yahoo-inc email id.
Remember to check the email id before clicking any such mail else your account will get compromised!


2 comments...:
Thanks Anshul, I'm useless at these kind of things so I appreciate the ability to look closely at the two emails so now I know what I should look for.
Thanks for the feedback on my friends post and for reading my blog.
Maxandcats
I am disappointed on how slow Yahoo has handled this matter. These lapses in email security can drive away users and damage this business platform.
anti spam service
Post a Comment